Spring 2023 Academic Calendar

Dates in this calendar are subject to change without notice.

January 2023

January 2022 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Sunday, January 8 Residence halls open at 12 noon.
Monday, January 9 Orientation for New Freshmen and Transfer students.
Tuesday, January 10 Orientation for New Freshmen and Transfer students.
Wednesday, January 11 Spring full semester and Express I classes begin.

 Friday, January 13

Last day of Drop/Add for Express I classes.

Last day for students to submit a request to Audit or apply for a Pass/Not Pass grade option for Express I classes.

Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday, observed. No classes. College closed.
Tuesday, January 17 Departmental Chairs' SZAAREG Deadline for Express I classes.

 

Tuesday, January 24

Last day of Drop/Add for full semester classes.

Last day for students to submit a request to Audit or apply for a Pass/Not Pass grade option full semester classes.

Wednesday, January 25 Departmental Chairs' SZAAREG Deadline for full semester classes.
Friday, January 27 Attendance Verification for Express I and Full Semester opens to faculty. 

 Saturday, January 28

Storm Day Makeup (on campus instruction for PE Activity Courses, labs, studio, performance courses only; virtual instruction on these days for all other courses). (SD*)

Sunday, January 29

Storm Day Makeup (on campus instruction for PE Activity Courses, labs, studio, performance courses only; virtual instruction on these days for all other courses). (SD*)

Tuesday, January 31

Last day for faculty to submit Individual Enrollment and Bachelor's Essay applications to the Registrar's Office for all full semester, Express I and Express II classes.

February 2023

February 2022 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Wednesday, February 1 Last day to submit an Undergraduate Application to Graduate in Spring 2023.
Friday, February 3 Attendance Verification for faculty closes at noon.

 Friday, February 10

Last day for students to withdraw with a status indicator of "W" from Express I classes.  NOTE: Registration holds prevent students from being able to withdraw from a course in Banner Self-Service. Students should resolve their registration holds prior to this date if they wish to withdraw from a course.
Spring 2023 Express I Course-Instructor Evaluations open.

 Saturday, February 11

Storm Day Makeup (on campus instruction for PE Activity Courses, labs, studio, performance courses only; virtual instruction on these days for all other courses). (SD*)

 Monday, February 13

Last day for students to submit incomplete undergraduate coursework to faculty for any Fall 2022 session (Fall 60 Day Deadline). Change of grade form to be submitted by faculty.
Wednesday, February 15 Last day to submit a Graduate Application to Graduate in Spring 2023.
Monday, February 20 Undergraduate missing and incomplete grades for Fall 2022 convert to a grade of "F".
Monday, February 27 Last day of Express I classes.

 Tuesday, February 28

Express I final exams for T/R classes.

Full semester Mid Term and Express I final grading open to faculty.

March 2023



March 2022 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Wednesday, March 1 Express I final exams for M/W classes.
Friday, March 3 Full semester Mid Term and Express I final grades due by noon (EST).
Sunday, March 5- Saturday, March 11 Spring Break.  No classes.
Monday, March 13 Express II classes begin.

 

Wednesday, March 15

Last day of Drop/Add for Express II classes.

Last day for students to submit a request to Audit or apply for a Pass/Not Pass grade option for an Express II class.

Thursday, March 16

Department Chairs' SZAAREG Deadline for Express II classes.

Maymester and Summer Sessions registration begins for College of Charleston students.

 

Friday, March 17

Class Roll Verification for Express II opens and should be handled via  Deletion from the Grade Roll form to be submitted by faculty.

 

Thursday, March 23 Maymester and Summer Sessions registration begins for visiting students.

 

Friday, March 24

Last day for students to withdraw with a status indicator of "W" from full semester classes. NOTE: Registration holds prevent students from being able to withdraw from a course in Banner Self-Service. Students should resolve their registration holds prior to this date if they wish to withdraw from a course.

 Tuesday, March 28

Fall 2023 early registration begins based on earned hours. NOTE: Holds will prohibit students from being able to register. Students should settle holds with the office that placed the hold before their opportunity to register.

April 2023

April 2022 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description

 

Friday, April 14

Last day for students to withdraw with a status indicator of "W" from Express II classes. NOTE: Registration holds prevent students from being able to withdraw from a course in Banner Self-Service. Students should resolve their registration holds prior to this date if they wish to withdraw from a course.
Spring 2023 Full semester and Express II Course-Instructor Evaluations open.
Tuesday, April 25 Last day of Express II classes. 
Wednesday, April 26 Last day of full semester classes. Classes that normally meet on Monday should meet on this date.

Thursday, April 27

Reading Day

Full semester and Express II grading open to faculty.

Friday, April 28 First day of full semester and Express II final exams.

May 2023

May 2022 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description

Wednesday, May 3

Last day of full semester and Express II final exams.

Spring 2023 Full semester and Express II Course-Instructor Evaluations close.

 Monday, May 8

Full semester and Express II final grades due by 5 p.m. (EST).  Faculty must submit a Change of Grade form for each student after the deadline. 

Graduate missing and incomplete grades for Fall 2022 convert to a grade of "F".

Tuesday, May 9 Final grades for full semester and Express II classes available in MyPortal
Friday, May 12 Spring 2023 Commencement Ceremony
Saturday, May 13 Spring 2023 Commencement (2 Ceremonies)

 Tuesday, May 16

Degrees are scheduled to be posted on this date. Students should wait until after this date to order official transcripts if they want the degree to appear on the transcript.

July 2023

July 2022 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Friday, July 7  Last day for students to submit incomplete undergraduate coursework to faculty for any Spring 2023 class (Spring 60 Day Deadline). Change of grade form to be submitted by faculty.
Friday, July 14 Undergraduate missing and incomplete grades for Spring 2023 sessions convert to a grade of “F”.

*SD – Storm Day Makeup (no classes unless the College deems necessary)

Note: Consistent with all applicable laws, any weekend day or designated holiday may be used as a storm makeup day.

Last Revised: 02/03/2022