Spring 2021 Academic Calendar

Dates in this calendar are subject to change without notice.

January 2021

January 2021 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Wednesday, January 6 Residence halls open at noon.
Thursday, January 7 Orientation for New Freshmen and Transfer students.
Friday, January 8 Orientation for New Freshmen and Transfer students.
Monday, January 11 Spring full semester and Express I classes begin.
Wednesday, January 13
  • Last day of Drop/Add for Express I classes.
  • Last day for students to submit a request to Audit or apply for a Pass/Fail grade option for Express I classes.
Thursday, January 14 Departmental Chairs' SZAAREG Deadline for Express I classes.
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday, observed. No classes. College closed.
Tuesday, January 19
  • Last day of Drop/Add for full semester classes.
  • Last day for students to submit a request to Audit or apply for a Pass/Fail grade option full semester classes.
Friday, January 22 Departmental Chairs' SZAAREG Deadline for full semester classes.
Wednesday, January 27 Attendance Verification for faculty opens in MyCharleston via Final Grades.
Friday, January 29 Last day for faculty to submit Individual Enrollment and Bachelor's Essay applications to the Registrar's Office for all full semester, Express I and Express II classes.

February 2021

February 2021 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Saturday, February 1 Last day to submit an Undergraduate Application to Graduate in Spring 2021.
Wednesday, February 3 Attendance Verification for faculty closes at noon.
Wednesday, February 10 Last day for students to withdraw with a grade of "W" from Express I classes.  NOTE: Holds placed by the Treasurer's Office will prohibit students from being able to withdraw in Banner Self-Service.  Students should settle the hold with the Treasurer to be able to withdraw online or contact the Registrar's Office by this deadline to withdraw.
Thursday, February 11 WA (Failure Due to Excessive Absences) form may now be submitted by faculty for Express I classes.
Saturday, February 13 Designated Storm Make-Up Day (SD*)
Monday, February 15 Last day to submit a Graduate Application to Graduate in Spring 2021.
Tuesday, February 16 Last day for students to submit incomplete undergraduate coursework to faculty for any Fall 2020 session (Fall 60 Day Deadline). Change of grade form to be submitted by faculty.
Tuesday, February 23 Undergraduate missing and incomplete grades for Fall 2020 convert to a grade of "F".
Friday, February 26 Last day of Express I classes.

March 2021


March 2021 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Monday, March 1
  • Express I final exams for M/W classes.
  • Full semester Mid Term and Express I final grading open to faculty.
Tuesday, March 2 Express I final exams for T/R classes.
Wednesday, March 3 Express II classes begin.
Friday, March 5
  • Last day of Drop/Add for Express II classes.
  • Last day for students to submit a request to Audit or apply for a Pass/Fail grade option for an Express II class.
Sunday, March 7 - Saturday March 13 Spring Break.
Monday, March 15
  • Classes resume.
  • Last day for students to withdraw with a grade of "W" from full semester classes.  NOTE: Holds placed by the Treasurer's Office will prohibit students from being able to withdraw in Banner Self-Service.  Students should settle the hold with the Treasurer to be able to withdraw online or contact the Registrar's Office by this deadline to withdraw.
Tuesday, March 16
  • Department Chairs' SZAAREG Deadline for Express II classes.
  • WA (Failure Due to Excessive Absences) form may not web submitted by faculty for full semester classes.
Wednesday, March 17
  • Full semester Mid Term and Express I final grades due at noon.
  • Class Roll Verification for Express II opens and should be handled via Addition or Deletion from the Grade Roll form to be submitted by faculty.
Thursday, March 18
  • Full semester Mid Term and Express I final grades available to students on MyCharleston by this date.
  • Maymester and Summer Sessions registration begins for College of Charleston students.
Tuesday, March 23 Fall 2021 early registration begins based on earned hours. NOTE: Holds will prohibit students from being able to register. Students should settle holds with the office that placed the hold before their opportunity to register.
Monday, March 30 Maymester and Summer Sessions registration begins for visiting students.

April 2021

April 2021 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Monday, April 5 Last day for students to withdraw with a grade of "W" from Express II classes. NOTE: Holds placed by the Treasurer's Office will prohibit students from being able to withdraw in Banner Self-Service.  Students should settle the hold with the Treasurer to be able to withdraw online or contact the Registrar's Office by this deadline to withdraw.
Tuesday, April 6 WA (Failure Due to Excessive Absences) form may now be submitted by faculty for Express II classes.
Monday, April 26 Last day of full semester and Express II classes.  Only classes that normally meet on Monday should meet on this date.
Tuesday, April 27
  • Reading Day
  • Full semester and Express II grading open to faculty.
  • Designated Storm Make-Up Day (SD)
Wednesday, April 28 First day of full semester and Express II final exams.

May 2021

May 2021 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Sunday, May 2 Last day of full semester and Express II final exams.
Tuesday, May 4 Graduate missing and incomplete grades for Fall 2020 convert to a grade of "F".
Wednesday, May 5
  • Full semester and Express II final grades due at noon.  Faculty must submit a Change of Grade form after the noon deadline.
  • Final grades for full semester and Express II classes available to students on MyCharleston after 5 p.m.
Friday, May 7 Spring 2021 Commencement Ceremony: Graduate, Undergraduate School of Professional Studies, Undergraduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Saturday, May 8 Spring 2021 Commencement (2 Ceremonies): (Morning: Undergraduate School fo the Arts and School of Business) (Afternoon: Undergraduate School of Education, Health and Human Performance; Undergraduate School of Languages, Cultures and World Affairs; Undergraduate School of Sciences and Mathematics)

July 2021

July 2021 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Tuesday, July 6 Last day for students to submit incomplete undergraduate coursework to faculty for any Spring 2021 class (Spring 60 Day Deadline). Change of grade form to be submitted by faculty.
Tuesday, July 13 Undergraduate missing and incomplete grades for Spring 2021 sessions convert to a grade of “F”.

*SD – Storm Day Makeup (no classes unless the College deems necessary)

Note: Consistent with all applicable laws, any weekend day or designated holiday may be used as a storm makeup day.

Last Revised: 11/13/2019