CofC Logo

Spring 2011 Academic Calendar

Registration, Withdrawal and Grade Dates for Students

JanuaryFebruaryMarchAprilMay

Note: Subject to change without notice.

January 2011
Wed-Fri, Jan. 5-7 Fall 2010 undergraduate diploma pickup 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Wednesday, Jan. 5 Residence halls open at 12:00 noon.
Thursday, Jan. 6 Orientation for New Freshmen and Transfer Students.
Friday, Jan. 7 Orientation for New Freshmen and Transfer Students.
Monday, Jan. 10 Spring and Express I classes begin.
Tuesday, Jan. 11 Registration for Senior Citizens.
Friday, Jan. 14 Last day to submit a "Permission to Audit" form.
Last day to apply for a Pass/Fail grade option.
Monday, Jan. 17 Last day for students to Drop/Add for full semester and Express I classes; Last day for 100% refund for full semester and Express I classes.
Summer 2011 Coursework Elsewhere form available.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday, observed.
Tuesday, Jan. 18 Updated: Last day for students to Drop/Add for full semester and Express I classes; 5:00 p.m. deadline. Last day for 100% refund for full semester and Express I classes.
Monday, Jan. 24 Last day for 90% refund for full semester & Express I courses.
Saturday, Jan. 29 SD (Storm Day Makeup)


February 2011
Tuesday, Feb. 1 Graduation Application Deadline for Spring 2011.
Monday, Feb. 7 Last day for students to withdraw with a "W" from Express I classes; Last day for 50% refund for full semester courses.
Saturday, Feb. 26 Last day of Express I classes.
Sunday, Feb. 27 - Tuesday, Mar. 1 Express I exams.
Monday, Feb. 28 Maymester and Summer Sessions Registration begins for College of Charleston students.
Fall 2011 Coursework Elsewhere form available.


March 2011
Tuesday, Mar. 1 Mid Term grades available to students on MyCharleston.
Wednesday, Mar. 2 Express II courses begin.
Friday, Mar. 4
Last day for students to Drop/Add for Express II courses; Last day for Express II 100% refund.
Saturday, Mar. 5 Express I grades available to students on MyCharleston.
Sunday, Mar. 6
Spring Break holiday begins.
Monday, Mar. 7
Last day for 25% refund for full semester courses.
Wednesday, Mar. 9
Last day for 90% refund for Express II courses.
Saturday, Mar. 12
Spring Break ends.
Monday, Mar. 14
Last day for students to withdraw with a "W" from Spring full semester classes.
Maymester and Summer Sessions Registration begins for visiting students.
Friday, Mar. 18
Last day for 50% refund for Express II courses.
Monday, Mar. 21
Fall 2011 open registration begins based on earned hours.
Thursday, Mar. 31
Last day for 25% refund for Express II courses.


April 2011
Wednesday, Apr. 6 Last day for students to withdraw with a "W" from Express II classes.
Monday, Apr. 25 Last day of Spring and Express II classes.
Tuesday, Apr. 26 Reading Day (SD - Storm Makeup Day).
Wednesday, Apr. 27 Final and Express II exams begin.


May 2011
Sunday, May 1 SD (Storm Makeup Day).
Wednesday, May 4 Last day of exams.
Saturday, May 7 Spring 2011 Undergraduate Commencement (2 ceremonies)
Monday, May 9 Final grades available on MyCharleston.
Thur-Fri, May 12-13
Mon-Tue, May 16-17
Diploma pick-up: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.


SD = Storm Day Makeup