CofC Logo

Fall 2020 Academic Calendar

Dates in this calendar are subject to change without notice.

August 2020

August 2020 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Monday, August 24 New Student Convocation.
Tuesday, August 25 Fall full semester and Express I classes begin.
Thursday, August 27
  • Last day of Drop/Add for Express I classes.
  • Last day for students to submit a request to Audit or apply for a Pass/Fail grade option for Express I classes.
Friday, August 28 Departmental Chairs' SZAAREG Deadline for Express I.
Monday, August 31
  • Last day of Drop/Add for full semester classes.
  • Last day for students to submit a request to Audit or apply for a Pass/Fail grade option full semester classes.

September 2020

September 2020 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Thursday, September 3 Departmental Chairs' SZAAREG Deadline for full semester.
Tuesday, September 8 Attendance Verification for faculty opens in MyCharleston via Final Grades.
Thursday, September 10 Last day for faculty to submit Individual Enrollment and Bachelor's Essay applications to the Registrar's Office for all full semester, Express I and Express II classes.
Saturday, September 12 Storm Day Makeup (SD*)
Sunday, September 13 Storm Day Makeup (SD*)
Tuesday, September 15 Attendance Verification for faculty closes at noon.
Thursday, September 24 Last day for students to withdraw with a grade of "W" from Express I classes.
Friday, September 25 WA (Failure Due to Excessive Absences) form may now be submitted by faculty for Express I classes.
Saturday, September 26 Storm Day Makeup (SD*)
Sunday, September 27 Storm Day Makeup (SD*)

October 2020

October 2020 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Thursday, October 1 Last day to submit an Undergraduate Application to Graduate in Fall 2020.
Tuesday, October 6 Last day for students to submit incomplete undergraduate coursework to faculty for any Summer 2020 session (Summer 60 Day Deadline). Change of grade form to be submitted by faculty.
Friday, October 9 Last day of Express I classes.
Monday, October 12
  • Express I final exams for M/W classes.
  • Full semester Mid Term and Express I Final grading open to faculty.
Tuesday, October 13
  • Express I final exams for T/R classes.
  • Undergraduate missing and incomplete grades for all Summer 2020 sessions convert to a grade of "F".
Wednesday, October 14
  • Express II classes begin.
  • DA (Deletion from the Grade Roll) form may now be submitted by faculty for Express II classes.
Thursday, October 15 Last day to submit a Graduate Application to Graduate in Fall 2020.
Friday, October 16
  • Last day of Drop/Add for Express II classes.
  • Last day for students to submit a request to Audit or apply for a Pass/Fail grade option for an Express II class.
Saturday, October 17 Storm Day Makeup. (SD*)
Sunday, October 18 Storm Day Makeup. (SD*)
Monday, October 19 Departmental Chairs' SZAAREG Deadline for Express II.
Tuesday, October 20
  • Class Roll Verification for Express II opens and should be handled via Addition or Deletion from the Grade Roll form to be submitted by faculty.
  • Mid Term and Express I final grades due at noon.
Wednesday, October 28 Last day for students to withdraw with a grade of "W" from full semester classes.
Thursday, October 29
  • WA (Failure Due to Excessive Absences) form may now be submitted by faculty for full semester classes.
  • Spring 2021 early registration begins based on earned hours. NOTE: Holds will prohibit students from being able to register. Students should settle holds with the office that placed the hold before their opportunity to register.

November 2020

November 2020 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Monday, November 2 Fall Break. No Classes.
Tuesday, November 3 Fall Break. No Classes.
Wednesday, November 4 Classes resume.
Wednesday, November 18 Last day for students to withdraw with a grade of "W" from Express II classes.
Thursday, November 19 WA (Failure Due to Excessive Absences) form may now be submitted by faculty for Express II classes.
Wednesday, November 25 Thanksgiving Holiday. No Classes.
Thursday, November 26 Thanksgiving Holiday. No Classes. College Closed.
Friday, November 27 Thanksgiving Holiday. No Classes. College Closed.
Saturday, November 28 Thanksgiving Holiday. No Classes. College Closed.
Sunday, November 29 Thanksgiving Holiday. No Classes. College Closed.

December 2020

December 2020 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Monday, December 7 Last day of full semester and Express II classes.
Tuesday, December 8 Reading Day.
Wednesday, December 9
  • Full semester and Express II final exams begin.
  • Full semester and Express II grading open for faculty.
Wednesday, December 15 Full semester and Express II final exams end.
Friday, December 18
  • Graduate missing and incomplete grades for Spring 2020 and Summer 2020 sessions convert to a grade of “F”.
  • Full semester and Express II final grades due at noon. Faculty must submit a Change of Grade form after that time.
  • Final grades for full semester and Express II classes available to students on MyCharleston by 5pm.
Saturday, December 19 Fall 2020 Commencement. #
Tuesday, December 22 Degrees will be posted.

February 2021

February 2021 Academic Calendar
Date(s) Description
Tuesday, February 16 Last day for students to submit incomplete undergraduate coursework to faculty for any Fall 2020 class (Fall 60 Day Deadline). Change of grade form to be submitted by faculty.
Tuesday, February 23 Undergraduate missing and incomplete grades for Fall 2020 sessions convert to a grade of “F”.

*SD – Storm Day Makeup (no classes unless the College deems necessary)

Note: Consistent with all applicable laws, any weekend day or designated holiday may be used as a storm makeup day.

#Fall Commencement may be moved if necessary, in order to make up for days lost to inclement weather.

Last Revised: 04-16-2019